Indian National Congress (INC) 1885


  • Founded in December 28, 1885 at the Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College, Bombay.
  • Founded by A.O. Hume a retired Civil Servant.
  • Only 72 delegates participated in the first session.
  • W.C. Banerjee was the first president of INC.
  • The term ‘congress’ (assembly of the people) was taken from the America & suggested Dadabai Nauroji.
  • Earlier name was Indian National Union.
  • Badruddin Tyabji first Muslim president of INC.
  • A.O. Hume was the General Secretary till 1892.
  • In Second Session was attended by 436 delegates & there were 2000 delegates in 1889.
  • The British committee of INC was founded in 1889.
  • George Yule was the first foreigner to become the President of INC. (1888, Allahabad)
  • Sarojini Naidu was the first woman to become the president of INC (1925 Kanpur)
  • The term Swaraj was first used in the Calcutta session in1906.
  • First Joint session of Congress & Muslim League was held at Lucknow
  • Vande Mataram was sung in1896, Calcutta session.

National movement can be divide 3 stages:

1.Moderate phase (1885-1905)

2.Extremist phase (1905-1919)

3.Gandhian phase (1919-1947)


  • Aurobindo Ghosh called INC a ‘‘begging institute’’

  • Bibin Chandra Pal viewed ‘‘INC playing with bubble’’.

  • Lord Dufferin criticized INC as “Microscopic minorty

  • Tilak, said ‘‘INC should distinguish between begging & claiming right’’ Tilak said ‘‘Rights are not begged they are claimed’’.

Indian National Congress meetings

Year Name of the President Venue
1885 W.C. Bannerjee Bombay
1886 Dadabhai Naoroji Calcutta
1887 Badruddin Tyabji Madras
1888 George Yule Allahabad
1889 Sir William Wedderburn Bombay
1890 Ferozshah Mehta Calcutta
1891 P. Ananda Charlu Nagpur
1892 W. C. Bannerjee Allahabad
1893 Dadabhai Naoroji Lahore
1894 Alfred Webb Madras
1895 S. N. Bannerjee Poona
1896 Rahimtull M. Sayani Calcutta
1897 C. Sankaran Nair Amravati
1898 Anand Mohan Bose Madras
1899 R. C. Dutt Lucknow
1900 N. G. Chandavarkar Lahore
1901 D. E. Wacha Calcutta
1902 Hasan Imam S. N. Banerjee Ahmedabad
1903 Lal Mohan Ghose Madras
1904 Sir Henry Cotton Bombay
1905 G. K. Gokhale Benares
1906 Dadabhai Naoroji Calcutta
1907 Dr. Rash Bihari Ghosh (Suspended) Surat
1908 Dr. Rash Bihar Ghosh Madras
1909 Pt. Madan Mohan Malviya Lahore
1910 Sir William Webberburn Allahabad
1911 Pt. B. N. Dhar Calcutta
1912 R. N. Modholkar Bankipore
1913 Nawab Syed Md. Bahadur Karachi
1914 Bhupendranath Basu Madras
1915 Sir Satender Prasad Sinha Bombay
1916 Ambika Charan Majumdar Lucknow
1917 Mrs. Annie Besant Calcutta
1918 Pt. Madan Mohan Malviya Delhi
1919 Motilal Nehru Amritsar
1920 Lala Lajpat Rai (suspended) Calcutta C.Vijayraghavachariar Nagpur(annual)
1921 C. R. Das Gaya
1923 Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad (Suspended) Maulana Mahammad Ali Kakinad (Annual)
1924 Mahatma Gandhi Belgaum
1925 Mrs. Sarojini Naidu Cawnpore
1926 S. Sarojini Lyengar Guwahati
1927 Dr. M. A. Ansari Madras
1928 Pt. Motilal Nehru Calcutta
1929 Jawaharlal Nehru Lahore
1930 (No session) but Independence Day Pledge was adopted on 26th Jan, 1930.  
1931 Vallabhabhai Patel Karachi
1932 R. Amritlal (session was banned) ………..
1933 Mrs. J. M. Sen Gupta (session was banned) Calcutta
1934-35  Rajendra Prasad Bombay
1936 Jawaharlal Nehru Lucknow
1937 Jawaharlal Nehru Faizpur
1938 S. C. Bose Haripura
1939 S. C. Bose (Re elected for 1939) ……..
1940 Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad Ramgarh
1941-45 (No session held, due to arrests of Prominent leaders) ………
1946 Acharya J. B. Kripalani Meerut
1947 (No session) …………
1948 B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya Jaipur


Feel free to comment !!