Indian Dance : Arts & Culture notes

  • Indian Dance is of ‘Divine origin’ i.e it was a ritual form of worship at the temlples.
  • Principles of Indian classical dance is derived from “Natya Shastra” of Bharat Muni.
  • Natya includes dance, drama & music.
  • Bharat Muni traces its origin from Brahma & Brahma created 5th veda known as ‘Natya veda.’

From vedas:

1.’Pathya’ (words) taken from Rigveda

2.’Abinaya’ (gestures) from Yajurveda

3.’Geet’ (music) from Samaveda

4.’Rasa’ (Emotions) from Arthavanaveda

  • Nataraja represents destruction, creation, preservation, release from bondage & the cycle of Life & Death.
  • Dance is considered to be a complete art because it enfolds in its range, other art forms too – music, sculpture, poetry & drama.
  • In every dance, the presence of mudra & rasa is must.
  • 108 Mudras & 9 Rasas are there.

2 basic aspects of dance; Tandava & Lasya.

  • Tandava denotes movement on rhythm i.e it emphasis on male characteristics of power, strength & firm aspect.
  • Lasya denotes grace, bhava, rasa, & abhinaya which are more feminine.

Nritta vs Natya

  • Nritta: consists of dance movement in their basic form.
  • Natya: Includes expressions, through eye, hand & facial movements.
  • Combination of ‘nritta’ & ‘natya’ becomes “Nritya.”
  • Earliest evidence: Bronze dancing girl, Bhimbetka caves, Ajanta & Ellora caves.
  • The classical dances are governed by rules of Natya Shastra & based on “Guru – Shisya parampara
  • Sangeet natya Acadamy has given the status of 8 classical dances.

Feel free to comment !!