Assamese Literature Syllabus – Civil Services Mains Exam (UPSC )

Note: UPSC Civil Services Mains Exam Optional Subject consists of 2 papers. Each paper is of 250 marks, making a total of 500 marks. You have to answer in Assamese language only.

Assamese literature Paper I



  • History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo – Aryan Languages-periods in its history.

  • Developments of Assamese prose.

  • Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese coming down from Old Indo – Aryan.

  • Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.

  • Morphology of the language-conjugation enclitic definitive and pleonastic suffixes.

  • Dialectic divergences the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.

  • Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.



Literary Criticism and Literary History

  • Principles of Literary criticism up to New criticism.

  • Different literary genres.

  • Development of literary forms in Assamese.

  • Development of literary criticism in Assamese.

  • Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e. from the period of the charyyageets with their socio cultural background; the proto Assamese Pre-Sankaradeva, post Sankaradeva Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers) Post-Independence period. Special emphasis is to be given on the Vaisnavite period, the gonaki and the post-Independence period.


Assamese Syllabus Paper – II

This paper will require first-hand reading of the texts prescribed and will be designed to test the candidates’ critical ability. Answers must be written in Assamese


  • Ramayana (Ayodhya Kanda only) by Madhava Kandali.

  • Parijat Harana by Sankaradeva.

  • Rasakrida by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).

  • Bargeet by Madhavadeva

  • Rajasuya by Madhavadeva.

  • Katha-Bhagavata (Books I and II) by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.

  • Gurucharit Katha (Sankaradeva’s Part only) by Maheswar Neog.



  • Mor Jeevan Sonwaran by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

  • Kripabar Barbaruar Kakatar Topola by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

  • Pratima by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.

  • Gaonburha by Padmanath Gohain Barua.

  • Monamati by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.

  • Purani Asamiya Sahitya by Banikanta Kakati.

  • Karengar Ligiri by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla

  • Jeevanar Batat by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)

  • Mrityunjoy by Birendrakumar

  • Bhattacharya

  • Samrat by Navakanta Barua.

Feel free to comment !!